Frank Jester, the original developer, purchased the farm in 1924 and building continued into the 1950s. Due to this thirty-year span of development, a variety of architectural styles are represented in Elmwood. These include: Tudor cottages; craftsman bungalows; 1930s cottages of brick or wood; and a variety of ranch style houses from the 1940s and ’50s, made of stone, brick or wood.
Elmwood Park, along the banks of Cedar and Elmwood Creeks, is a focal point of the neighborhood. The park is full of mature trees and is home to a variety of birds and wildlife. The park has play equipment, open spaces for sports, and is a popular place for walking dogs and jogging as well.
Elmwood also has its own small business district along Edgefield Drive. This area features a collection of unique small commercial buildings, professional offices, a Masonic Hall and a couple of churches. In 1988, this location was used for the filming of the Main Street sequences in the movie Born on The Fourth of July.
In order to preserve the rich heritage of Elmwood and to maintain a high quality of life, The Elmwood Neighborhood Association was formed in 2000, replacing the long standing Greater Elmwood Neighborhood Association and the Elmwood Crime Watch program. The Association exists to meet a variety of needs for this diverse community. Among the association's activities are: beautification and conservation of Elmwood Park; preservation of neighborhood features and architecture; cooperation with the city on issues of code enforcement and other services; maintaining a neighborhood crime watch program; producing a neighborhood newsletter and Web site; and sponsoring meetings and community events.